Hot Stuff!

I have a hot water faucet.

I mean, I have a boiling water faucet.

I’ve had one for years and years. I love it. But the one I had was getting old. What I had was an Insinkerator HOT1. It looked like this:

It’s not made anymore.IMG_20180712_151554.jpg

And the one I had was really showing its age. It looked like this:

It might not be obvious in that picture but it was bulging alarmingly. And the plastic shell is crumbling away; not sure using a plastic that degrades under prolonged exposure to heat is a good plan for something that’s meant to hold near-boiling water for years…decades.

I’d been looking to replace it with something better. Something more like this:

But as I’ve said, money’s pretty tight these days, so $250 for a new hot water dispenser was out of the question. Even if the one I had had failed I would not have spent the $250 to replace it.

But fortune favors the prepared mind.

So when I found this very item (with a different faucet) at the rock-bottom home repair outlet store, and it was on clearance to boot, I knew what I was looking at and that $29.75 was a pretty good price.

So I bought it.

Installing it was more or less straightforward. Getting the old one out was a little tricky. After all these years I had to search online for the installation instructions, to read how I’d installed it, so I could figure out how to de-install it. Then a quick trip to the hardware store to buy the inevitable couple of bits and pieces to make it work in my particular kitchen, and presto!

 

 

And all in one day, so I won’t have to skip any coffee.

About

A guy in his early 50s, living more or less alone in a 90-year-old house, trying to keep it all together.

Posted in Appliances, Plumbing
One comment on “Hot Stuff!
  1. […] are alternatives. In Europe, many homes have point-of-use instant heaters. Kind of like my boiling water spigot, but for general hot water, and one in the kitchen, one in the […]

Leave a comment