Go ahead.

This is sort of the opposite of the post about the laundry chute.

Someday soon, I intend to install a cat door in the wall between my bedroom closet and the hall.

I know there is nothing dangerous in that wall, because I had all the closet walls opened up when the bedroom was being remodeled (this is important. Before you go cutting into the walls or the floor, do your best to make sure you know what’s inside that wall. Do your best to positively identify everything in the area (gas, water, drains, electricity, load-bearing members, etc) and ensure you’re not going to hit any of them. if you’re certain there’s nothing in the wall, cut carefully. If you’re only pretty sure there’s nothing in the wall, maybe drill a hole or two carefully into the wall and take a peek. Explosions, spraying water, and death by electrocution are good things to avoid). In fact the closet doesn’t actually have “walls” like a normal room, now. We just cut and hung sheets of cedar OSB in there. Didn’t even bother with trim. It smells nice. (Or it did when it was freshly-installed. But that was a long time ago. I should probably replace that stuff with fresh.)

Right now, the way the cats get in and out of my bedroom is to jump up and through the window to the office….

Let me back up.

When we moved into this house, there was a window high up on the wall between my bedroom and the room I use as my office. Why? I have no idea. That room is odd anyway. It’s tiny, and opens off the living room right next to the front door. I have no idea what the architect was thinking, honestly. And a window between the rooms? WTF? But we liked the window. Partly because it was odd. So when we remodeled the bedroom and office—which included tearing that wall down and rebuilding it—we put a similar window in the new wall. So right now the cats enter and exit my bedroom through the office through the weird window.

But they’re getting older, my cats. When they were young, they would jump from the bed straight up 4 feet to the windowsill and then out. Now they jump 2 feet from the dresser to the sill of the “real” window (the one that looks out to the world, as opposed to looking out at my office), and from there to the top of the wardrobe, and from there to the sill of the office window, and from there a similar chain of furniture down to the floor in the office. They’re not so spry as they once were. And I can see the day in the future when they can’t do it anymore. So I want to put a cat door in so they can get in and out of my room without me having to leave the bedroom door open.

And the point of this post is that it really is as simple as that: I want to cut a square-foot hole in a wall in my house. So I’m going to cut a square-foot hole in the wall in my house.

It’ll be in the wall between my closet and the hall, because that’s where there is clear wall space on both sides: most of the rest of the walls of my bedroom are against walls in other rooms where a cat door would be untoward: I’m not going to open a hole between my bedroom and the bathroom, for instance. So I’ll have to leave the closet door ajar; but I never close it anyway. And as an added bonus if for some reason I wanted to keep the cats out I could close the closet door and the window.

My current plan is to take down the cedar, frame in the cat door from the closet side, then roto-zip out the hole from the hallway side. Then re-hang the (probably new) cedar in the closet and cut out the hole on the closet side. A little spackle, maybe a little trim, a little paint…All done!

Do you have a similar crazy idea you’ve always wanted to do to your house? What’s stopping you? It’s your house: do it!

About

A guy in his 40s, living more or less alone in a 90-year-old house, trying to keep it all together.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

