The “Laundry Chute”

Soon after we moved into the house, I stepped into the closet in the master bedroom and the floor felt…odd.
The carpet was also a separate piece from the bedroom, and not attached. When we lifted the carpet, we discovered a piece of art—a drawing of a house (and not my house), matted and ready to frame—covering a hole in the floor. With a joist running through the middle of the hole.
As near as I could guess, someone at some point had decided it would be nice to have a laundry chute, and had used a Sawzall or something similar to cut out a hole in the floor of the closet. Then discovered the joist and…gave up. Put whatever was handy over the hole, put the carpet over the whole thing and forget it ever happened. The fact that the bedroom closet is also not anywhere near the laundry area is another piece of this story that makes no sense. Anyway, the hole is now covered by the new plywood subflooring that was put in when we remodeled the bedroom, leaving only a pair of small cuts in the joist (where the saw blade cut through as it cut the hole in the floor).

Ironically, one possible plan for the future of the basement involves moving the laundry area to pretty much right there.  And a laundry chute would be pretty sweet. But I’m not going to open that hole up; if I decide to do all that, I’ll do it with (at least a little) more forethought.

About

A guy in his 40s, living more or less alone in a 90-year-old house, trying to keep it all together.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in History
3 comments on “The “Laundry Chute”
  1. Jennifer Stevenson says:

    You’re gonna have to let me subscribe or something. I don’t actually “go read some blogs.” FB is about my speed. But I do like knowing that someone else’s house is a bigger cockup than mine. I say this with love.

    • Erik says:

      Aha! Down in the bottom right corner there is a pop-out ” + Follow” tab. It’s not always there and I don’t know why. Try clicking on the title of the blog to reload the page; that’s what made it appear for me (as a non-logged-in anonymous user. Logged in to WordPress it doesn’t show up at all).

  2. Erik says:

    I have at least one subscriber-by-email. I’m new to WordPress, so I don’t know for sure how you do that, but I know it can be done.

Leave a Reply

